basting lines (it feels like wasting time!)

my many basted pattern pieces. The grey shows the interlining side.

I’ve started work on my vogue chanel jacket (7975). As usual I like to make things interesting for myself – I say this with sarcasm – as I wanted to use some fabric which I used to make some trousers. For those who have visited here before you’ll know this fabric well, as I used it for the trousers during my dress making course.

Of course, fabric well suited to wide legged trousers does not translate in to instant jacket material. A little bit of assistance is required. So my Saturday has been dedicated to busily basting an interlining which will also I hope have underlining qualities. This extra layer is a nice grey wool tweed which gives the whole jacket, hopefully, more body and warmth.

I at least saved myself cutting out a whole extra pattern set by carefully pinning the grey wool underneath my main fabric so it all lined up. My poor scissors grumped at being asked to cut through 4 layers, but just about managed.

There are 4 pieces left to baste but it is time for bed. They can wait until tomorrow. I have also been exceptionally good compared to my usual self, and pressed everything before and after basting. This better be all worth it, as I still have the lining to cut out!

A small teaser on the lining, I have bought some “Elvis” silk fabric which actually has (if you look very closely) guitars and the word Elvis woven in to it, from a distance it just looks like floral fabric. More photos of that later when I have proper day light.

About sewwherenext

A number of years ago I signed up for a year long beginner's dressmaking course. I have never looked back and am always thinking about my next project, hence the sew where next? name. This blog is to try and keep track of my trials, tribulations and hopefully successful projects.

Leave a comment