grading the project

the collar is now finally permanently attached. This has required multiple basting, the assistance of many pins and copious amounts of scissor work. Because of course an interlined and interfaced collar seam is a tad bulky.

Remembering my previous reading, I carefully graded the multiple layers to achieve something which could be pressed in to submission. Despite this, and understitching the facing was still intent on floating upwards like a hot air balloon straining at the leash. Happily with the addition of a sturdy line of slip stitching (another great thing about interlining, this does not show from the outside) it is now firmly staying put.

The sleeves have been stitched and now await the final step of joining the dress. The hemming still awaits me, but this shouldn’t take too long.

So I feel it is not too early to give some initial judgements seeing as this is now nearly complete. The pattern is rated as very easy by Vogue. Personally I dont think the amount of easing and pinning required at the collar is necessarily a great idea for a complete beginner. But if you have done a collar before you should be ok.

I’m really looking forward to wearing this to work and it keeping me nice and warm!

About sewwherenext

A few years ago I signed up for a year long beginner's dressmaking course. I have never looked back and am always thinking about my next project, hence the sew where next? name. This blog is to try and keep track of my trials, tribulations and hopefully successful projects.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

