dress(ed) and belt(ed)

ok, the dress is now done! Hem and sleeves are all finished. My nice neighbour has taken my photo of me and I’ve found a matching belt. Much better than the one recommended by the pattern, but who knows I might find something even nicer later.

My mother has made tutting noises over the thickness of the fabric due to the interlining. What she doesn’t get is that this is intended as a cold weather winter dress. I don’t just want to live in trousers when it is icy!

I am wearing a fine wool long sleeves top underneath as otherwise the tweed would itch my arms. The only problems with this type of dress are getting in and out of it (despite a 60 inch zip this requires some wriggling) and also of course when you get up you need to give the skirt a quick tug to get things straight again. Otherwise another happy addition to my wardrobe!

Excuse the wrinkles, I had just been having a cup of tea and didn’t realise they were there.

About sewwherenext

A few years ago I signed up for a year long beginner's dressmaking course. I have never looked back and am always thinking about my next project, hence the sew where next? name. This blog is to try and keep track of my trials, tribulations and hopefully successful projects.

One response to “dress(ed) and belt(ed)

  1. OOh- oh I like this! I love the contrast fabric on the collar- nicely done! Whats next?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

