woolly thoughts

I had an urge to go back to a pattern I have previously made: Simplicity 3833. I’d made my first version out of an old table cloth. It worked really well, in both fit and design. I decided to make a winter version out of wool.

I spent ages looking for suitable fabric as I wanted to try colour blocking. Once found I was advised in order to get my wish I would have to buy 1.6 meters in total of fabric when the pattern only calls for 1.10. This would result in leftover fabric.

As those who have previously read this blog will know, this is something I am not keen on. So I thought I would make a matching jacket out of the spare bits. It has been a VERY tight squeeze to get this cut out.

I was distracted by the neighbour’s cat who decided he would roll all over it. Alas, my colour blocking pattern piece placement is not up to scratch yet. I realised to my horror when I discovered after cutting them all out I should have turned the bodice pieces the other way round. Much to my relief I found there is virtually no difference when reversing the fabric (hooray!) so I am saved.

But, I am unsure how to complete the jacket as there is not enough fabric at the bottom to create a traditional length hem. I’ve got 1.5cm and it will be lined. Any thoughts?

or this...

still deciding if the jacket front bodice should be like this…

still deciding i the jacket front bodice should be like this...

or this..

the top pieces in this picture are the "wrong" side, but fortunately you cant tell comparing them to the bottom skirt pieces

the top pieces in this picture are the “wrong” side, but fortunately you cant tell comparing them to the bottom skirt pieces

the front, the back and the jacket pieces

the front, the back and the jacket pieces

surveying paw print damage

surveying paw print damage

you can see how little fabric I wasted (the bodice pieces were cut twice)

you can see how little fabric I wasted (the bodice pieces were cut twice)

About sewwherenext

A few years ago I signed up for a year long beginner's dressmaking course. I have never looked back and am always thinking about my next project, hence the sew where next? name. This blog is to try and keep track of my trials, tribulations and hopefully successful projects.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

