deja vu – but now with sleeves!

I know, you are going to look at this photo and think…looks just like the last one. Except its not! I have duplicated all of the bodice pieces, added the sleeve option (from the dress pattern) and created a matching jacket.

A few things still to do to it. The sleeves need hemming, I need to add the lining (might as well do all of that in one go with the dress) and the front bodice pieces need trimming to match the length of the back bodice pieces. I think I also need to straighten up the front closure, we’ll see. Its my first experience “creating” something different out of pattern pieces then what the envelope intended.

The jacket front wont overlap, that would be just too bulky. So I’m going to add buttons and loops as a closure. I’ve also hemmed the dress itself (with a baby hem, love that hemming foot!) and my machine made a nice neat job of it. I hemmed by hand the last shift dress and on close inspection (because of the thick weave of the fabric) you can see the stitches. So I didnt want to recreate that in my nice thick felt.

I must say, apart from the stretch factor this fabric is LOVELY to work with. Easing in the sleeves was a breeze.

Anyway, on to the pictures..(despite careful pressing I can see yet more is needed!)

the front, can you spot the difference at the bodice darts where the jacket had been added?

the front, can you spot the difference at the bodice darts where the jacket had been added?

side profile, I love how the colour blocking changes round the sleeve head

side profile, I love how the colour blocking changes round the sleeve head

the back

the back

About sewwherenext

A few years ago I signed up for a year long beginner's dressmaking course. I have never looked back and am always thinking about my next project, hence the sew where next? name. This blog is to try and keep track of my trials, tribulations and hopefully successful projects.

2 responses to “deja vu – but now with sleeves!

  1. That is exquisite, and your work on it is so good, and I hope you can see the growth from the beginning of your course! :) Lovely sewin gmachine back there too! Lovely classic Bernina.

    • thank you Muffet, that means a lot! one of the things i have really worked on/learned is the art of pressing properly. It sure does make a difference. I adore my machine (its from my grandmother).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

