trial and error(s)

I’ve learned a few lessons yesterday. When modifying a pattern to redesign it in to something else, do not think adding new finishing techniques will automatically work out.

I sewed my jacket wool edge to my acetate lining edge. I thought the two were an equal length. Only after carefully edge stitching the entire length with ribbon did I discover they were not equal as particularly near the side seams the wool was being pulled upwards by the suddenly apparent shorter lining.

I unpicked the whole lot, and tried to rearrange the lining so that it didn’t cause pulling. No joy. Eventually had that light bulb moment of why am I doing this to myself, lets just stick with a free hanging lining like all the other jacket patterns I have made recommend.

But, how to salvage a now badly chewed up lining edge which was looking rather sorry for itself? well, I have added a ribbon finish to it as well! it now actually looks quite pretty and smart, and echoes the ribbon finish I added to the wool jacket.

So here it is…the final outfit! the beret is from Venice (where I am going again this Sunday!) and has been a firm favourite in my wardrobe ever since.

all ready to face the (very snowy) cold day!

all ready to face the (very snowy) cold day!

really proud of the fact the jacket perfectly lines up with the dress!

really proud of the fact the jacket perfectly lines up with the dress!

with the jacket open so you see the dress in more detail

with the jacket open so you see the dress in more detail

About sewwherenext

A few years ago I signed up for a year long beginner's dressmaking course. I have never looked back and am always thinking about my next project, hence the sew where next? name. This blog is to try and keep track of my trials, tribulations and hopefully successful projects.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

