how not to get your knickers in a twist

A while ago I had this great idea. Lets use up a small piece of left over fabric from another project for something quick and easy. Famous last words. I like to think myself usually quite a good judge of what I can get away with when substituting pattern envelope recommended fabric. Alas this time I almost bit off more than I could chew (or should I say stitch?).

I already had a pattern from making a slip which had a knicker option (Kwik sew 2467). In my initial assessment the pattern looked rather accommodating to say the least. I thought I could substitute the suggested stretch knit with a silk cotton blend. Please, do not try this at home….

I happily stitched up the pattern, adding the elastic at the waist. I then tried them on for size. One problem. Could not get them past my hips. Guess that’s what the “stretch” is needed for.

After consultation with a few fellow sewers, I decided to add stretch lace side panels. Call them a design feature. The project fell by the wayside as I had other more urgent projects pleading for my attention.

But, at last, a free Sunday. They are now finished, and I can just squeeze them over the hips. Even better. They fit!

The following photos are of me in tights for modesty reasons.

P1040096

P1040097

front

front

side view

side view

About sewwherenext

A few years ago I signed up for a year long beginner's dressmaking course. I have never looked back and am always thinking about my next project, hence the sew where next? name. This blog is to try and keep track of my trials, tribulations and hopefully successful projects.

One response to “how not to get your knickers in a twist

  1. Matt

    Nice save, I love making undies too!

    Matt

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

