getting in to the flow (of fabric)

So, after the important question of design, next comes the almost equally important question of fabric. This next step will either make my journey towards the end of my course much easier, or make it ten times harder. Given that I have a propensity towards making life more “interesting” for myself, guess which I am hoping for…

Lets start with the good news. My eye fell on the interesting fabric description tag at my local fabric shop. Union fabric. Hmmm, no flag in sight, what does this mean? one dictionary definition later the answer is as follows. The warp is made from one fibre, and weft from another. In this case, linen (20%) and cotton (80%). How interesting. Several attractive other features unveil themselves. Cheap (under £5 a meter!), nice finish, lots of body and its white, so I can dye it any colour I want.

The big question is of course, does it actually live up to expectations. Fortunately, for this price I can afford to splash out on a sample to play with – it can always be used for something else if it doesn’t work out. Without further introduction, here are my attempts at displaying the draping qualities of this fabric – I think it will hold the pleats/tucks and skirt quite well, feel free to give your opinion!

(disclaimer, I dont have a photographer to hand, so these are taken by my computer, alas its a tad grainy)

holds the fold well

holds the fold well

yes, those are clothes pegs. The easiest things to hand that would hold the fabric (its heavy, so not sure a few pins would do the trick)

yes, those are clothes pegs. The easiest things to hand that would hold the fabric (its heavy, so not sure a few pins would do the trick)

draped

draped

About sewwherenext

A few years ago I signed up for a year long beginner's dressmaking course. I have never looked back and am always thinking about my next project, hence the sew where next? name. This blog is to try and keep track of my trials, tribulations and hopefully successful projects.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

