toile 1 finished toil 2 about to start

So, my long running dress toile is FINALLY finished. The main issue was the grain on the right side of the asymmetric front of the skirt. It just wouldn’t hang right. Three pieces later (good job I got 8 meters of muslin fabric near the start of the course) it is finally doing what it should. The mock waist band is firmly attached, and its on to the real thing.

Nearly all the pattern pieces (fashion fabric, organza and lining) have been cut out – just two more pieces to cut. I am hoping this will be a straightforward (and straight grained) sewing experience. It better be, as the course hand in deadline is the 15th of July. Apart from this dress, there are more than a few things to do. I think the remainder of my evening and weekend time until then is pretty much fully booked….

Fingers crossed.

front - I think given my pressing attempts on this the real thing is going to need a Pressing to Death experience to get everything looking good

front – I think given my pressing attempts on this the real thing is going to need a Pressing to Death experience to get everything hanging well 

the back

the back – still need to decide on how I want the ends of the collar to finish

About sewwherenext

A few years ago I signed up for a year long beginner's dressmaking course. I have never looked back and am always thinking about my next project, hence the sew where next? name. This blog is to try and keep track of my trials, tribulations and hopefully successful projects.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

