the final steps and stitches to the finish (hem) line

So, the dress (after a couple of until midnight evenings) has just about been finished, bar the hemming, This monster of a job, which will require roughly 4  meters of horsehair braid is going to be A Job. One which I am saving until later, when I have a lot more of the rest of my coursework finished. This all has to be handed in on Monday. I have a fair bit still to complete. This post is supposed to be about what I have accomplished so I wont dwell too much on that.

I am feeling pretty chuffed at how this dress now looks. Despite the list of “things to improve” from my dress making tutor I have still managed to retain some of the original enthusiasm from when I first started this project. Its come a long way from my quarter scale sample. It looks like what I imagined it to be and I have really pushed myself in the making of it.

There have been a few disasters along the way. Fabric dyeing and fabric stretching have been two big learning curves. I don’t think I will be in a hurry to make something like this again for a little while, but at least its now the right weather to wear it once it is finished.

So, here are the photos…..

the back skirt is fabulously full

the back skirt is fabulously full

I like the slimming effect of the waist band

I like the slimming effect of the waist band

now with buttons!

now with buttons!

About sewwherenext

A few years ago I signed up for a year long beginner's dressmaking course. I have never looked back and am always thinking about my next project, hence the sew where next? name. This blog is to try and keep track of my trials, tribulations and hopefully successful projects.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

