no sweat – some easy projects!

Normally when I make a project, it either involves fitting adjustments, or complicated cutting/sewing. For once I have had several weeks of neither. First, the Lekala S3002 pattern I started a while back. I think I am something of a convert! the fit was really good, and I only had to make a small adjustment by taking in the hip side seam slightly by about 1cm in total on each side.

I added a lining, and reduced the hem allowance as my dupioni silk was quite stiff and not forgiving to easing. Plus it frayed badly. So I did a generous baby type hem by turning over 1cm, then turning over again and stitching. The one other thing I had to do was reduce the seam allowance for the facing as it was a bit too small for some reason to fit the skirt.

Due to the fraying I hand overcast all the seams (don’t expect this kind of work with all projects) and added a lining as it was close fitting. I am surprised this isn’t included.

 

I still have a matching bolero to make which is half finished. Totally out of season of course given that it is now really cold. Still, something to look forwards to next summer.

I also happily cut up an old work sweatshirt from a previous job which has produced both trousers and top for a friend’s toddler. Very happy with the result, and even better both patterns were free. I even got to reuse the hems. So apart from the trousers elastic the entire project was free.

photo1_939

 

If you are interested here at the links (to fit a 3 year old):

http://www.madeeveryday.com/2008/07/tutorial-and-pattern-kid-pants-the-basic-pants.html/

http://www.madeeveryday.com/2013/02/tutorial-and-free-pattern-5-steps-to-the-basic-tee.html/

About sewwherenext

A number of years ago I signed up for a year long beginner's dressmaking course. I have never looked back and am always thinking about my next project, hence the sew where next? name. This blog is to try and keep track of my trials, tribulations and hopefully successful projects.

Leave a comment